Wireless Week hosted its 15th Annual Leadership Awards reception during the CTIA Wireless 2012 convention in New Orleans on Tuesday evening, May 8. The publication celebrated AT&T for recognizing and capitalizing on its Wi-Fi Services and Verizon Wireless for its unique HopeLine philanthropic initiative. T-Mobile USA Chief Technology Officer Neville Ray was singled out for his exceptional leadership in T-Mobile’s HSPA+ rollout and its migration to LTE. Sprint Nextel CEO Dan Hesse was honored for his continued stewardship in Sprint’s turnaround, and retired Verizon Wireless President and CEO Denny Strigl earned the Lifetime Achievement award for his many years of work in the industry and continued influence as author and commentator. You can read more about the winners here:


About 100 people attended the invitation-only event. We spotted a few familiar faces in the crowd, like Verizon Wireless’ current president and CEO Dan Mead, as well as Verizon CTO Tony Melone and T-Mobile USA Senior Vice President of Government Affairs Tom Sugrue. Also among those in attendance were Roger Entner, founder of Recon Analytics; John Dwyer, president and CEO of Interop Technologies; and Jim Dwyer III, vice president of product management at Interop. Anritsu and Targus Info sponsored the event.

Photographer Matthew Hinton’s pictures from the event can be found here: